My Background To Present

September 3, 2011 § Leave a comment

My family comes from England. Brighton to be exact. My great great grandfather came to canada by a ship in 1899. He live in Assiniboia Saskatchewan, on a farm where he had to work. In 1910 he traveled back to England to try and find his family, and did not succeed. My great great grandfather joined World War 1 at the age of 25, and returned at the age of 31. When he arrived back in Canada he purchased land 16 miles south west of Lloydminster. At the age of 41, 1927 he got married to my great great grandmother. He had two sons and two daughters. My great grandpa took over the farm when his dad passed away, there he also raised his family of 11 children, one of which was my grandmother. Before my great uncle had purchased and moved onto the family homestead my grandmother had lived there for five years. I spent many nights in the family farm house.

I was born on April 9th, 1995. My mother was only 18 and my father was 22. When my mother was 14 she was told she was never going to be able to have children. Within four years I was a growing seed in her stomach. I could not imagine what my mother felt like.

She has always loved me, and to this day, she does not love me any less. When I was 5 months old, my father had returned to British Columbia, leaving my mother and I on our own. He does not talk to me much, but I am doing just fine without him.

At the age of 4 I welcomed a new half sister. Four years later my mother had married my step father, who had three children of his own. My mother and step father had two boys together, giving my sister and I two baby brothers.

For 6 years of my life I never had a real father, even though I did have substitutes, I always wondered what it would feel like to have the real thing.

I am now well aware that I have another family down in British Columbia, I have three beautiful little sisters. Sometimes I feel like a chunk of my heart is missing when I think about my other family. It kills me, and it makes me upset that I am not wanted by my own father. One part of my family tells me I don’t know the whole story, and the other half tells me as much of the story as they can, and know.

I am grateful for my step father, and I love him. I still wonder what it would be like to grow up with my real father. At the age of 6 getting a new sister who was only 10 months younger than me was so cool. It was like having a sleep over every night. To this day she is one of my best friends, and I love her. I got two new step brothers one who is two years younger than myself, and one that is 4 years younger. From having one sibling to instantly having four siblings is a big adjustment. I now have a family of 9, with 6 siblings.

Two years ago my family moved to an acreage, just three miles out of Lloydminster. I have since started living in town with my grandma. I have my privacy, and its very quite in the house so I do not have to worry about not getting my homework done because its quite and I have more time to myself. I have my own room in the basement, where no one else is staying, so I pretty much have the basement to myself. I do sometimes miss being with my family, so the odd time i will go there for the weekend and stay there. I felt living with my grandma was my best chance at doing good in school and not being bothered. I like my peace and quiet.


Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Background To Present at rebeccafairlien.

meta

