What Has Changed Me

October 28, 2011 § Leave a comment

It happened when I was six years old, September 1st 2001. I woke up to my mom crying and screaming in fear. I could not figure out what was wrong with her, I got out of bed and made my way creeping down the stairs. As I walked into the living room where my mom was sitting sobbing on the couch. I saw with her my grandmother and grandfather. Suddenly my grandmother took me to my room and helped me get dressed while she proceeded to tell me we were going to my great grandmother’s house. Everyone still remained silent no one would tell me what was going on.

Driving into my great grandmother’s drive way. I could see everyone was upset, being so young, I knew I would never understand. I finally found out what had happened by creeping along the house listening and over hearing a conversation that was not for my ears. Feeling my heart dropped to my stomach. I found out that my Uncle had been killed. It was heartbreaking. He was like a second father to me. At one point in my life he even lived in our basement. He was the best, and my favorite uncle.

He wonderful man. Almost every day when I came home from school he would take me to the park, just down the road and play with me till it got dark. My grandmother said we were inseparable. It was like he knew how I was feeling, if I was sad he would cheer me up. Even if he was just looking at me funny, if I was mad, he was the only one who could cheer me up. I looked up to him, he was my hero. When he was killed, it was like someone had taken a piece of my heart away, I would come home and no one would be there to take me to the park. My mom was always busy with my little sister. When my mom did take me it was never the same, she could never take my uncles spot. It was the saddest year of my life. Everyone was so down, I remember like it was yesterday.

My sister was still only young around a year old. I feel sorry for her, because she never really got to know him. A year before he had been killed he had twins, a beautiful boy and girl. It makes me sick to my stomach when I think that they grew up without a father. I wish they could have grown up with him and been able to experience how phenomenal and what an amazing man he was. He was my father when I didn’t have one, and now they don’t have one. I don’t think anyone can imagine the way they felt finding out their father had been killed. It is like someone is stomping on my heart, I cant picture what they feel like. September 1st will always be an upsetting day for my family. In his name we do get together every year for his birthday, and Christmas.

Now, because of that terrible event on that horrid day, I look at the world differently, as I would if he were still alive. It makes me wonder what the world would be like with no crime, drugs, or alcohol. I some times wonder what life would be like if my uncle was still here. It has definitely helped shape the person I am today.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What Has Changed Me at rebeccafairlien.

meta

